You are currently viewing New Bolivian Travel Restrictions

New Bolivian Travel Restrictions

Yellow Fever Bolivian Travel Restrictions

According to the Bolivian Government, a Danish tourist recently tested positive for yellow fever after visiting a jungle area in the far west of this landlocked Andean country. Due to this diagnosis, which is Bolivia’s first case of yellow fever in a decade, the government has announced that new Bolivian travel restrictions will be applied to combat spread of the disease. The country’s migration offices will now be asking for an international vaccination card against yellow fever for people coming from the following countries:

  • The Americas:
    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.
  • Africa:
    Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Congo, Ivory Coast, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Central African Republic , Democratic Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, South Sudan.

If you have plans to travel through Bolivia, please double check that you are in accordance with these new rules. If you are travelling from any of the named countries or have been there recently, please go see your doctor to get official proof of vaccination.

It’s a bit of a pain, we know, but in the long run it couldn’t be more worth it. You get to cut down on the chances of getting sick or spreading a serious disease while seeing otherworldly places like the Uyuni Salt Flats or Lake Titicaca.